12
Jan
11

Some Delicious Healthy Shit, Recipe #1

So part of what I’m doing over the next few months is incorporating a healthier diet into my life.  I am a Meatatarian, (yes, I’ve copy righted it).  I don’t care how they raise it, kill it or cook it, I love eating animals.  Golden roasted chickens, tender beef, tasty lamb, deer, turkey and all their little babies.  Don’t give a shit.  It is good and normal and has been going on for thousands of years.  I do not eat fish, the texture is gross and I love them as my pets.

Count Del Monte and Count FoscoThat being said, I have learned that eating too much beef can lead to higher blood pressure and cholesterol.  In turn, that shit leads to heart attacks and strokes and that could possibly fuck up your bedroom moves… Bullshit. You don’t have to tell me twice. Healthy it is. Over the next couple weeks I am going to try new recipes and write about it.  It will be healthy, delicious and some tasty goodness.  I am going to try some different types of meat and some leaner cuts in the hopes of finding some great meals that are good for you.  This week I am cooking some chili to help me get through these cold 64 degree January nights.

Recipe #1 Bison/turkey chili

What you will need.

1 pound of ground turkey

1 pound of ground bison

1/2 of a big onion

2 green peppers

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can crushed tomatoes

2 TBSP of chili powder

1 TSP of crushed red pepper and black pepper

1 TSP salt

Some special Mike Crowley grown Cayenne peppers (obviously you can not get these unless you stop by, but either buy some cayenne peppers or use 1 TSP of the spice.)

You will also need a pair of goggles and a world-famous Philadelphia Phillies apron.

Basically you just chop everything up.  I use the goggles to protect my eyes against the onion.  I don’t know what it is about onions but they make me tear up like a holiday jewelry store commercial. So dice the onion and the peppers, add the meats, tomatoes, spices etc…  You can cook this in a crock pot or on the stove in a pot.  I would cook on medium heat for about five hours.  Stir it occasionally and add more salt if you like.

This serves 6 to 8

Now usually a nice french bread would go great with this.  But, in honor of eating healthy and in dedication to my grandmother who passed away last year, I suggest stealing saltines from a few restaurants throughout the week and saving them for this meal.  Crumble a pack or two up and pour them on top of your chili.  You might also want to put some cheese on top, low fat shit of course.

1 Response to “Some Delicious Healthy Shit, Recipe #1”


  1. 1 Joe
    January 13, 2011 at 7:17 am

    Good on you, Mike! How did the chili taste? Worth it?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Contact

Le calendrier

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

